Knowledgebase: Axe-Edit
How to Delete Axe-Edit SETTINGS
Posted by Matt Picone on Oct 23, 2012 - 6:31 pm

The following article is for Axe-Edit versions 1.9 or earlier.

Axe-Edit uses a file to manage user and system settings. Sometimes, the data in this file can become corrupt and cause problems. When this happens, simply deleting the settings file will cause it to be recreated the next time the program launches, thereby eliminating related problems. The process to delete the settings file is different for Mac or Windows.

On Windows:

  • Exit Axe-Edit.
  • Hold the SHIFT key
  • Relaunch Axe-Edit

You will be prompted to delete the settings file. This process can take some time to complete. Proceed and then restart Axe-Edit. You will need to re-select the location of your WORKSPACE folder. Normally, just leaving the default location and clicking SAVE CHANGES is all that is required.

On Mac:

  • QUIT Axe-Edit
  • Navigate to  [User]/Library/Application Support/Fractal Audio/Axe-Edit
    • Note: If you cannot see the LIBRARY in your user folder, please see http://osxdaily.com/2011/07/22/access-user-library-folder-in-os-x-lion/
    • You can also access the Axe-Edit.settings via the command line.
      • Open the Terminal app and type the following (without quotes) "open ~/Library/Preferences/Fractal\ Audio/Axe-Edit"
      • Press the Return key.
      • A Finder window will open where you should see Axe-Edit.settings.
  • Trash Axe-Edit.settings
  • Restart Axe-Edit. You will need to re-select the location of your WORKSPACE folder. Normally, just leaving the default location and clicking SAVE CHANGES is all that is required.

 

(9 vote(s))
Helpful
Not helpful

Comments (0)
Help Desk by Kayako